What I Read This Weekend…Persephone by Kaitlin Bevis

Screen Shot 2015-06-28 at 8.50.26 PM

Description: Daughters of Zeus, Book One

One day Persephone is an ordinary high school senior working at her mom’s flower shop in Athens, Georgia. The next she’s fighting off Boreas, the brutal god of Winter, and learning that she’s a bonafide goddess—a rare daughter of the now-dead Zeus. Her goddess mom whisks her off to the Underworld to hide until Spring.

There she finds herself under the protection of handsome Hades, the god of the dead, and she’s automatically married to him. It’s the only way he can keep her safe. Older, wiser, and far more powerful than she, Hades isn’t interested in becoming her lover, at least not anytime soon. But every time he rescues her from another of Zeus’s schemes, they fall in love a little more. Will Hades ever admit his feelings for her?

Can she escape the grasp of her powerful dad’s minions? The Underworld is a very cool place, but is it worth giving up her life in the realm of the living? Her goddess powers are developing some serious, kick-butt potential. She’s going to fight back.

Review: This book is YA and I did NOT know that! I figured it out pretty quickly, but I wish is was a romance novel!!! This book was interesting. Some myths people already know in this book and some do not. That part is a little confusing. It is also in modern times so the fact that some are known and some not is a little annoying. 

I liked parts of this book. Hades was great. Persephone was ok…it was hard since they are ‘married’ but she is still a teenager. It seems a little inappropriate which is why I wish it was a romance. It definitely ends on a cliffhanger and the ending seemed a little anticlimactic to me. Overall, I liked it. It was a good YA book and good intro into this series I just hope that the action gets a little better. 

3/5 stars

~I received an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review~

***************************************************************************

About the Author: I spent my childhood curled up with a book, and a pen. If the ending didn’t agree with me, I rewrote it. I’ve always wanted to be a writer, and I spent high school and college learning everything I could so that one day I could achieve that goal. I graduated college with my BFA in English with a concentration in Creative Writing, and am pursuing my masters at the University of Georgia.
My young adult fiction novel “Persephone,” will be released this summer. I also write for Athens Parent Magazine, and truuconfessions.com. I have also published several short stories, my latest, Siren Song, is available on amazon.com.

For up to the minute information on my future releases subscribe to my facebook or twitterpage!

Leave a Reply

