What To Read This Week…Lord of Regrets by Sabrina Darby

Screen Shot 2015-04-27 at 10.58.49 PM

Synopsis

Despite the love and sensuous addiction they shared, Lord Marcus Templeton could never marry Natasha Polinoff. Not while he remained under his grandfather’s vise-like control. But when Natasha announces her out-of-wedlock pregnancy—which would destroy his inheritance—Templeton explodes into a rage. One that sends Natasha running into the unforgiving night, never to return…

Now five years have passed, and Lord Templeton has finally found his beloved. And this time, the viscount will have her.

However, Natasha has settled into a new life with her young daughter. Lord Templeton’s arrival fills her with terrible fear . . . and undeniable longing. He has come to claim her. Yet even as her body still longs for his touch, her anger still burns. She is no mere possession. But Lord Templeton will do whatever it takes to bring her back into his arms and back into his bed. Even if it means resorting to blackmail to make Natasha his wife…

Review

While I was reading this book I wasn’t entirely sure that I would enjoy it. After I finished it I thought about it, and did decided that I liked it. It wasn’t my favorite, but I enjoyed it. This book wasn’t one that I read in one sitting or finished quickly. However sometimes that is nice just because you know you don’t have time to keep reading, but you do anyways. I had other things to do so this allowed me to enjoy reading when I could, but I also got other things done while reading. That is rare for me. I probably needed it.

All of that being said, Lord of Regrets wasn’t a bad story. I liked the premise, but the heroine was also extremely annoying.

The whole premise for their ‘love’ is based on five years prior. You don’t see them fall in love then though. That is what is lacking, but also could be seen as a benefit. I personally like reading about people falling in love. That’s why people read romances. However, this novel really showed what happens after you fall in love. How decisions based on that love can effect you as a person and your life. Now it doesn’t have a HEA, but the characters do get to a point where you know they will be ok. That I think is the most we can ask from our characters sometimes since HEA doesn’t exist in real life. This novel is based more in reality that I am used to from novels so it was interesting.

I was disappointed by a couple things. The daughter wasn’t a major focus on the novel. She would pop-up and had her moments, but from other books I read she wasn’t a big part of the story. Also the heroine was very annoying at times. She just went through most of the novel, seeing what was going on, but rarely having an opinion about anything. She was just very confused for 80% of the novel, feeling hatred for 10% and then happy/content the other 10%. I just hated the lack of opinion or how she seemed to keep wanting to ‘think’ about things. I understand that part of that was the more real-life aspects of the novel, but it got a little irritating at times.
Those were my two main complaints. I liked our hero, he seemed like a good guy. The novel was well-written, but it helps to expect some things that I mentioned before instead of going into this novel like I usually do, especially Regency-era novels.

 

***I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review***

Leave a Reply

