What To Read This Weekend…STEEL AND STONE SERIES by Annette Marie

Ok so I read this series in the last couple months. It is amazing, one of my all-time favorites now. There is supposedly going to be five books and only three are out so here are my reviews of the first three in the Steel and Stone series by Annette Marie!

Screen Shot 2015-04-09 at 8.55.51 PM

Synopsis: Piper Griffiths wants one thing in life: To become a Consul, a keeper of the peace between humans and daemons. There are precisely three obstacles in her way.

The first is Lyre. Incubus. Hotter than hell and with a wicked streak to match. His greatest mission in life is to get Piper into bed and otherwise annoy the crap out of her. The second is Ash. Draconian. Powerful. Dangerous. He knows too much and reveals nothing. Also, disturbingly attractive — and scary. Did she mention scary?

The third is the Sahar Stone. Top secret magical weapon of mass destruction. Previously hidden in her Consulate until thieves broke in, went on a murder spree, and disappeared with the weapon.

And they left Piper to take the fall for their crimes.

Now she’s on the run, her dreams of becoming a Consul shattered and every daemon in the city gunning to kill her. She’s dead on her own, but there’s no one she can trust — no one except two entirely untrustworthy daemons… See problems one and two.

Review: To say that I inhaled this book would be the perfect way to describe it. I haven’t finished a book that quickly in a while! I LOVED this book! The story was fantastic, characters were unique and Annette Marie writes some of the best scenes between a guy and girl with the added sexual tension that I have read in a while! The chemistry is just coming off the pages between Piper, Lyre, and Ash. OMG ASH! Meet my new book boyfriend! Holy crap this guy is awesome! Definitely has the quiet, think but total badass thing going for him which is my favorite.

I thought Piper was a little weak in the beginning. She is supposed to be this great warrior but it takes a while to prove that yes, she is also a badass. That was probably one of the best parts of the story is when she fights her own battles and you really get to see what a strong woman she is. That was one of the stronger reasons why I loved this book so much. The assumed love triangle is actually one of the better ones that I have read. Sometimes they are awful and this was actually a good one. It isn’t even that strong of a love triangle so if you are worried about that or get annoyed with love triangles, don’t worry. It’s really not that bad.

Stars: 5/5

***Note: I received a copy of the book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.*** 

 


Screen Shot 2015-04-09 at 8.53.58 PM

Synopsis: The most important rule for an Apprentice Consul is simple: Don’t get involved with daemons. Well, Piper is planning to break that rule — big time.

After a near-deadly scandal with the Sahar Stone, she has the chance to return to the only life she’s ever wanted. All she has to do to keep her Apprenticeship is forget about Ash and Lyre. Ash might be enigmatic and notoriously lethal, and Lyre might be as sinfully irresistible as he is irritating, but they’re not bad for a couple of daemons.

There’s just one problem: Ash is missing.

Really, she shouldn’t risk her future for him. He lied. He betrayed her. But he also saved her life, damn it. Wherever he is, he’s in trouble, and if she doesn’t save his sorry butt, who will? But with every dangerous secret she unravels, each one darker than the last, she slips deeper into Ash’s world — a world with no escape for either of them.

BIND THE SOUL is the second book in the Steel & Stone series.

Review: The plot thickens! Now I devoured the first book in this series and the second I think I read faster? I just loved it. I had to find out what happens! And Annette Marie did not disappoint! I was worried that the story wouldn’t be as good as in the first book, but I worried for nothing! Ms. Marie has great story-telling abilities! There are little things that bothered me in this book, but they really pale in comparison to just how great the story itself is. Piper seems to be really growing, becoming more independent, but I am worried about how her decisions she makes will effect her. It seems like that is the main plan to explore for the next book. Piper’s dad is also being completely unreasonable in my eyes! I am so worried about boarding school. It seems like a really bad idea but we will see!

Now lets talk about those boys! I was excited that we finally got to see Lyre without glamour! That was fun! Ash became my new book boyfriend in the first book and even more so in this one! Ash is just wonderful! One of the best guys that I have read!

The fact that another girl is also introduced I liked. Piper needs some girlfriends!

Can’t wait to see what happens!

Stars: 5/5 stars

Screen Shot 2015-04-09 at 8.27.37 PM

Synopsis: After surviving a round-trip to hell, Piper figures she can survive anything. After all, she just lived through the devastating loss of her Consul apprenticeship and a torturous stint at boarding school. How much worse could it get? 

Well, she wasn’t expecting a group of crazy radicals to burn her home to the ground and take her prisoner. 

The Gaians, a.k.a. the crazy radicals, plan to rid Earth of daemons and they want Piper to help them. In exchange for her cooperation, they promise her the answer to all her problems: magic. With her own magic, she could reclaim her apprenticeship, the only future she’s ever wanted. But her magic comes at price — it could kill her. 

With the life she’s always known crumbling around her and her future slipping from her grasp, she needs Ash’s help one more time. But the greatest danger of all lies within her, and no matter what she does, she may lose everything — including him.

 

Review:

I was DYING to get my hands on this book. I haven’t wanted the next book in a series this much in a while (not counting wanting to get the second book in the series ASAP). After the amazing sequel I was slightly nervous what was going to happen in the third book. As a FYI, there supposedly will be five books in the series. The story continued and readers will not be disappointed. The story is starting to shift more from being a teenager, to becoming more adult. I like this transition.

In this book Piper and friends travel to the Overworld. Now I try to not give away anything about books (I hate reviews with spoilers), but I don’t think saying that gives anything away. There are some questions that are answered which is always nice, but of course more questions arise. This book gives more into the origin of Piper which I loved. The sexual tension between Piper and Ash. Ash, can we say new book boyfriend??? Love Ash, he is just the strong, silent type, but is also a badass. All of these things are my favorite! I’m still waiting for more girls to show up and have actual friendships with Piper. There were a few surprises thrown in there that I wasn’t expecting. The ending was heartbreaking and I am so nervous about the next book! Also ends on another cliffhanger and I can’t wait to read the next one!

I will definitely be reading anything else Annette Marie comes out with! So delighted to find a new author!

Stars: 4.5/5 stars

***I received an ARC from the author in return for an honest review***

Leave a Reply

