What to Pre-Order This Week…Stealing Rose by Monica Murphy

SynopsisPerfect for fans of Christina Lauren and Emma Chase—the second novel in New York Times bestselling author Monica Murphy’s sizzling series about three powerhouse sisters and the men who would have their hearts.

People say the youngest child has it easy, but nothing can be further from the truth. Unlike my two sisters, Violet and Lily, I’m never in the limelight. I just work my butt off for Fleur Cosmetics and get little to no thanks for it. I’ve been pushed too far one too many times, and I’m finally brave enough to do something about it.

Maybe my newfound courage has something to do with the amazing pink and white diamond necklace I wear to the party in Cannes. The instant those dazzling heirloom jewels touch my skin, they excite some deep, aching need inside. And when that guy—that totally gorgeous guy—locks eyes with me, I know this nice girl is going to be naughty.

For once it’s my turn. My turn to say no to my father, to outshine my sisters, to walk away from it all—straight into the arms of a mysterious stranger. But what if Caden is much more than I bargained for? Sure, he makes me feel sexy and free in a way I never have before, but there’s something else I can’t quite place—something dangerous. Maybe our “chance” meeting wasn’t so random. Maybe he was looking for me for a reason. Whatever his motive, there’s no going back now.

And maybe I don’t want to.

Review: First I have to say that I love the title. It was very clever since Caden steals things for a living. Rose herself was really struggling to find herself throughout the book and you really got that from her actions and thoughts. Part of the confusion in finding herself also bled into making the story not as good. Then there was Caden. Caden was a bad boy for sure, but not really the kind of bad boy that I like. I admired that he wanted to prove himself before he stayed with Rose. I just didn’t like him as the bad boy he was portrayed as. I just didn’t connect him with who I think Murphy was trying to portray him as. Now I read Owning Violet and loved it. This was not as good to me. I think part of it was that I just didn’t like Rose and Caden as much. Neither as a couple or their story. I still liked it, but I enjoyed the first book more. I enjoyed the story. The pace was a little slow in my opinion. The ending was wonderful though. Murphy’s writing was also up to her the usual excellence that you find in her novels. I am really looking forward to the last book. And I am hoping that there is a good confrontation between the evil witch and the sisters.

3/5 stars

I received an ARC of this book from the publisher.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s