What To Read This Weekend…Last To Know by Micalea Smeltzer

 

 

Synopsis: He was just a boy.
And I was just a girl.
But if that’s all there was to the story it wouldn’t be very interesting, would it?

Up and coming band Willow Creek is back in their hometown for the summer. For the drummer, Maddox Wade, this summer was meant for writing music and playing gigs.

Falling in love was not part of the plan.

One look at Emma Burke and those plans cease to matter.

Emma is quiet and guarded. She’s still hurt from her father walking out two years ago. She doesn’t want to trust Maddox, but with his dark hair, smoldering good looks, and infectious smile he’s impossible to resist.

Together Maddox and Emma embark on an unforgettable summer of adventures and first love.
Everything is perfect…or so Emma thinks.

There are things she doesn’t know, and when she finds out the truth it might shatter everything she’s built with Maddox.

No one said love was easy, and for Maddox and Emma it just might be impossible.

This is a Young Adult book. The following books in the series will be New Adult.

*This book is a standalone within a series

Review: This is the first book in Micalea Smeltzer new Willow Creek series. It is YA which I didn’t realize when I got it, but you pick up on that rather quickly since the main character is still in high school. All that being said it is a clean YA novel. No graphic descriptions here. I was a little disappointed at first with the novel. It felt like everything was rather predictable. Now I know when reading YA and NA that to a certain extent everything is predictable, that is why we read them. However, this was the bad kind of predictable. That didn’t last and it became just as well written as previous works that I have read by this author.

I have to say that I loved Emma’s style in this book. It was so quirky and fun and made me wish it was summer so I could wear outfits similar! I really liked that Emma was a gentle soul. She just seemed like such a sweet person and I loved her story. Maddox was fun as well. He had some great one-liners that will make you laugh and therefore people will stare, but its worth it! It really was just one of the sweetest stories I have read in a while.

~It also set up the rest of the series nicely and I can’t wait to read about our other Willow Creek boys~

In the end I found this novel to be just as good as other YA novels. I personally prefer her writing NA and am happy that the rest of the series will be NA. Overall I really enjoyed this novel and I believe it is on sale for 99 cents right now so go pick up your copy now!

Amazon

I recieved an ARC of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

