What To Read This Weekend….Coral and Bone by Tiffany Daune

What To Read This Weekend! Sorry I haven’t posted in a while! I kinda took a month hiatus as a break, but I am back. I read a ton of books and should be able to post regularly again!
Screen Shot 2015-01-22 at 10.52.08 PM

Synopsis: Halen knows the sparks igniting under her fingertips are dangerous. She has spent her entire life trying to quell the tingly feelings that make her destroy things, but now that she is back in Rockaway Beach, where she watched her father drown, the flames have become impossible to tame.

Halen is trying to hold on, but when she is thrust into a mysterious new world, the underwater realm of Elosia, she unravels the secrets of her past and can’t help but ignite. As she explores Elosia, she realizes her life has been a lie. And when those who have deceived her come to her for help, Halen must choose—walk away or unleash the magick that could destroy them all.

 

My Review: The cover is what first caught my attention. The title was also interesting and well done now that I have finished the book. I wasn’t sure what to expect, but I love any kind of paranormal.

I haven’t read a YA book recently that had a character as young as Halen was. She is 14 in the beginning of the book and turns 15 in the course of the novel. I felt that may be a little young for some of the things said towards the end. One thing that i appreciated was that the names in this book were very unique. That is something necessary, in my opinion, for a good paranormal novel.

There were a large amount of surprises in the novel, which really kept the story interesting. I wasn’t sure where the novel was going to go at first. You get an idea as the reader that its some kind of underwater creature, but I like where the story went instead I thought it was going to go in my head.

I liked the secondary characters. Especially her friend, T. Our love interest of Dax was also fun. The whole book I wasn’t sure if it was going to be a standalone or part of a new trilogy. Of course its part of a trilogy so I know from some of the interactions with secondary characters that there will be tension and happenings in later books.

The story was paced pretty well. The ending was a little bit more anticlimactic for me. However, that may just be more of a personal thing than anything that was actually wrong with it. Sometimes the dialogue and interactions were a little boring to me, but overall I enjoyed it. I felt that it was a really original story. There was a lot of creativity I thought into the story. I will be sure to watch out for the sequel!

4/5 stars!

***I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review***

 

Screen Shot 2015-01-22 at 11.04.55 PMAbout the Author: I write stories about magick, love and dark creatures lurking in the shadows. When I’m not lost in Edit Land you can find me reading a book from my towering TBR pile or at the movie theater nibbling licorice. I don’t have a lucky number, but my favorite time is 11:11. I completely believe that the fortunes found inside cookies will come true and that you must be careful when wishing on stars. I live on an island, so if you want to visit you’ll need a boat, and if you want to survive the passage be sure to bring candy for the mermaids. Check out her website here! http://www.tiffanydaune.com

Leave a Reply

