What To Read This Weekend…2 Books in the Riverbend Series by Lilian Darcy

Here are two books that I read recently by Lilian Darcy that were part of the same series, The Riverbend Series. Both were excellent!

Screen Shot 2014-11-16 at 10.32.52 PMThe Sweetest Thing by Lilian Darcy

This book was so much more than I bargained for. I was expecting a much lighter read than the one that I got. This book had a great amount of depth to it. There was a lot of exploration about relationships of all kinds, forgiveness and how one chooses to live their life. I greatly enjoyed it. Each character grew throughout the novel.

 

It is told from several different perspectives which offered more insight which I liked. The most interesting character was Sugar, which surprised me. I still didn’t like her, but I did like her acceptance of her decisions and who she is.

 

This author had one of the most interesting writing styles I’ve seen recently. They way she told the story was very different. I liked it.

I was a little disappointed by the ending. I wanted more of an epilogue to find out what happens, but the ending was still ok.

 

Screen Shot 2014-11-16 at 10.37.23 PMLong Walk Home by Lilian Darcy

This is the second book in this series that I have read. I loved the Sweetest Thing so that made me curious about other characters mentioned when you find they have their own books. I really like this author. She weaves stories together really well. I liked this book, but not as much as The Sweetest Thing. That isn’t a bad thing though. They were both so different that I appreciated those differences. The writing style was similar though which was great.

 

Lilian Darcy writes really deep, interesting characters. In terms of the couple. I actually liked this couple’s relationship better than the one in The Sweetest Thing. Both these characters had such mistakes in their pasts. I thought that the communication between these two was great. I liked how cute they were.

 

There was also the added interesting dynamic of their relationships with their kids. Family relationships are written really well by this author because they show how complicated they can be in a very truthful way.

 

I thought that the description was a little misleading just because she doesn’t plan to turn herself in like it says, but that issue is dealt with really well. The idea that secrets from our past can be their own type of prison is very truthful and that point really got across in this novel.

 

 

Note: I received both of these book for free in exchange for honest reviews.

Leave a Reply

