What To Pre-Order This Week…Once Loved by Cecy Robson

I am posting the review that I did for Once Perfect by Cecy Robson because for What to Pre-Order this week I am focusing on the sequel, Once Loved!

 

Screen Shot 2014-11-16 at 7.00.05 PMOnce Perfect by Cecy Robson Review

 

I wasn’t sure about this book when I started it. The main character seemed a little bit off. Also our guy. I wasn’t sure I was going to like him. Thankfully, I kept reading and the book just got better and better. I really like this author’s writing style. She did a good job with pacing and didn’t give too much or too little information in my opinion. I liked the demographic of the couple with him being Latina and her white. That may seem odd, but I like when the couples are different in that way, especially when the focus is on the heritage of one, in this case our guy. I definitely learned some things about Latino culture I didn’t know which I love.

 

As the book progressed I liked the girl more and more. I liked the angle that the author took with this character so you do see character growth from her. This is really important to me as a reader. I like to see that in books I read.

 

Our guy was a fighter, which is always one of my favorites. This guy seemed so SWEET! I wanted him to be my new book boyfriend! I don’t know if I have read a book recently with such a sweet, good guy who also didn’t bore me to tears.

 

I liked the professionalism that they kept at the workplace. The workplace environment became really important and that was different in my opinion and it worked really well for this novel.

 

There was a lot for each of these characters to work through in this book and I liked the life like aspect of that.

 

Spoiler alert**************************************************************

 

I loved that at the end she didn’t let him break up with her. They never broke up which was nice. I am so sick of the lets break up because we aren’t communicating or one of us is being stupid and then we get back together later. She knew they were stronger together and I liked that.

 

End of Spoiler************************************************************

 

Overall a really great story, with lots of real life issues. The 4/5 stars comes from the beginning not having a big enough hook for me.

 

Note: I received a free copy of this book in return for an honest review.

 

I am so excited for the sequel and it comes out in just a couple weeks!

Screen Shot 2014-11-16 at 7.11.53 PMBlurb:

He’s the campus golden boy. She’s picking up the pieces of her broken past. But in Cecy Robson’s scorching novel of second chances—perfect for readers of Monica Murphy and J. Lynn—their differences only make their connection more explosive.

Every memory Lety Tres Santos has from her childhood comes with a scar—some emotional, some physical. Her father is an abusive drug addict, and her mother enables his destructive behavior. College offers Lety a fresh start . . . until her father finds a way to ruin that, too. Now, after losing her scholarship to kick off junior year, Lety must somehow stay in school, pay tuition, and turn a deaf ear to the whispers that follow her. And she intends to do it all without Brody Quaid’s help.

Brody is a lacrosse star, a 4.0 student—and as a freshman, he fell hard for the beautiful and spirited Lety. But their relationship crashed and burned because he couldn’t break through the walls she’s put up around her heart. With Lety hurting more than ever, Brody strives to win her back and make her believe in real love and true partnership. That will mean opening up secrets locked away in his own past—and trusting someone more than he’s ever dared.

Lety knows how painful it can be to depend on the wrong man. She also knows how much Brody wants to do this the right way. But it takes more than sizzling desire to move on and build a future together.

 

I am so excited to read this book! It releases Jan. 20, 2015.

Advertisements

One thought on “What To Pre-Order This Week…Once Loved by Cecy Robson

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s