What I Read This Weekend…How We Deal With Gravity by Ginger Scott

Screen Shot 2014-11-16 at 5.55.55 PMHow We Deal with Gravity by Ginger Scott

 

Not going to lie. I wasn’t super excited about this book. I have liked previous works by this author though so I figured I would try it out. I am so glad that I did. I enjoyed this book immensely. The writing was well done. The pace was great. The focus on autism was done wonderfully. I feel like I have such a better understanding of autism after reading this book. The blend of romance with the struggles of a single mother of a child with autism was beautiful. That was probably my favorite part of the book. Max was my favorite character by far. He seemed like a great kid.

 

There was a lot of character growth for both the main characters. I feel like both had to adapt to unexpected things. These things were not something they wanted to adapt to, but knew they had to for their love to survive. I thought that was great about this book as well. It’s hard for people to change and I think both characters did a lot of that throughout the story.

 

I now want to find my own ‘Dusty’s’, with my own ‘Ray’ to go hangout at on Saturday nights. I thought the title was perfect for this book after reading it. In the beginning I didn’t get it, but you have to read it to get it, which is ok to do sometimes. I really hope that there is a follow-up book about Claire and Cole. I felt there could be a really cute story there.

 

It definitely took a bit to get into which is the only reason for a 4/5 and not a 5/5. This is a book that I think was almost necessary for you not to get into it right away. I don’t think the rest of the story could have been as well written as it was if the beginning had been written differently. Readers need that gradual introduction.

 

This was definitely a book that got better the further along it went and when I finished it I found I had a wonderful time reading it.

 

4/5 stars

 

Note: I received a free copy of this book in return for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

