WHAT TO READ THIS WEEKEND…UNBORN BY AMBER LYNN NATUSCH

Screen Shot 2014-11-16 at 4.13.44 PMUnborn Review

 

I received a copy of this book from NetGalley in return for an honest review!

 

I have never read a book by Amber Lynn Natusch, but after reading this one I want to go read everything!

 

I really enjoyed this book. The beginning was slightly confusing. I know this can be read as a standalone, but I think it would have helped to have read the Caged series before this one. While you eventually do understand everything going on, it did take me a bit to get it all figured out. I really liked the pace of the story. The way the main character speaks is a little annoying because its a mix between language of today and language of the early 20th contrary or earlier. However, I understand why it happened that way and it does make sense when you take in the characters background.

 

The writing and pace of the story was good. I love paranormal stories, but especially those with gods and/or angels involved. That being said this book had a lot of paranormal elements that I liked. The pace was good which is always important to me. Overall there seemed to be very little character development but because this appears to be being turned into a series I hope to see that growth more in the next few books.

 

I was really surprised that our main character couldn’t fight. I thought that she would at least have been taught to do that, but nope. Also, its a little confusing in terms of her sexuality. From what I gathered while reading the book she seems to have been raped several times, but we don’t talk about that as effecting her at all. I understood that she had to survive in the Underworld and therefore felt nothing it seems like, but I wanted more depth to this character because of her harsh upbringing.

 

Oz seemed complicated. I am not sure where the author will take this character in future books, but there is a lot of character growth that can be done there. In terms of all the brothers. It was nice to get insight into all of them. They were each very individual despite being brothers. I was worried they would seem too similar or confusing, but the author did a good job of making each brother distinct.

 

I am very anxious to see where this series goes, but I did love this book and look forward to the sequel!

 

4/5

Leave a Reply

