What I Read This Weekend…The Duke of Snow and Apples by Elizabeth Vail

Screen Shot 2014-10-18 at 12.22.32 AMI received a copy of this book in return for an honest review.

 

3 stars

 

Honestly I started reading this, got five pages in, decided that the girl was bratty and I stopped. I eventually went back and I am glad that I did. I didn’t have a moment while I was reading it where I was like “This is good”. Instead it was more “That was good” once I actually finished. The girl got less annoying as the book progressed, but it did take a while. She is a character that you have to have patience with. I still didn’t totally like her by the end, but she was tolerable.

 

One thing to note is that this is a CLEAN romance. None of certain scenes. Also while I thought it was a historical romance, its not. Not really. Its more like the children of fairies and humans in a weird timeline that you won’t understand. I really wish there had been a prologue or something explaining all of this. I was thoroughly confused throughout the book because I didn’t think the back history of the people was explained well.

 

The guy was a complete martyr to the point that he got annoying. His self-loathing was intense and completely unjustified. I just wanted him to own what he was instead of having all that self-hatred.

 

I don’t want you to think I didn’t like this book. I did. I liked it a lot more than I thought I would. I would have been ok if I had paid for this, but I don’t think I would read another book in this series.

Leave a Reply

