What I Read This Weekend…Her Best Shot by Shannyn Schroeder

Screen Shot 2014-10-17 at 10.10.10 PM

Her Best Shot by Shannyn Schroeder Review

 

I received a copy of this book in return for an honest review.

 

3 stars

 

This is the first book in a series serial. Each book is a serial/novella, but deals with one of three friends around spring break before they all graduate. All the girls are really smart. I believe they all attend MIT. I believe each can be read as a standalone.

 

I kinda liked this book. Because it was a novella, it was shorter so everything was more rushed, which I was ok with. The pool aspect was really interesting. I don’t think I have ever read a book dealing with pool. I have to say that I wanted a pool (wink, wink) scene. Unfortunately there was not.

 

The main character was a little annoying. She was going to make a decision near the end that in my opinion would have been stupid, thankfully the guy convinced her of that and she didn’t do it. Still I didn’t think she should have held a grudge against him for it because it was such a stupid decision.

 

The girl wasn’t my favorite, but I did like that she was a really intelligent.

 

The guy was also not my favorite overall, but I liked the idea of him. He is part of a gypsy family and I thought that part was very different. He is also a nomad, which again was different.

 

Part of the problem I think is that since the story was so short, you don’t get to really connect to the characters. There were also no side, secondary characters. It really was just about the two of them. I think I could have done better with that if it had been done better.

 

It was fine for a quick read, but didn’t hold my interest like other novellas that I have read.

Leave a Reply

