What I Read This Weekend…The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

I didn’t want to do it. I really didn’t. I resisted for a while and would have kept resisting, but one of my friends got a free copy from the publisher so I decided to read it. That’s right. I read The Fault in Our Starts. I read the book, which was the cause for me almost getting killed at BookCon (not really, but really it could have happened.)

Since the movie comes out TOMORROW I figured I should post by review of the book before I run to Redbox to rent it!

Now I have never read a John Green novel before. I have resisted doing so until now. This book has changed my mind about John Green. I would now like to go and read all of his books and make sure that I really do like his books. Many people have told me that The Fault in Our Stars is not his best book so I am excited about the idea that there is something better out there.

 

Before you ask, no I haven’t seen the movie. Now I am going to. I was going to see the movie no matter what but now that I have read the book I really am going to see it.

 

At the beginning I was a little doubtful. There were some words that I felt didn’t really fit. Example, she describes the main guy Gus as “dead sexy”. I don’t know if a 16 year old really thinks of guys as “dead sexy”. Also she mentions that he makes her “skin feel more like skin” (pg. 31). “He kind of turned me on” (pg. 17). I did not like such descriptions. They seemed a little cheesy, but it may just because I am older and not a 15-year-old girl.

 

I did really like Gus. I thought he was cute. He had some great qualities such as not trying to actually win video games, but save innocents/Hazel. He had some great lines and I did cry when he died.

 

One thing I liked about this book was the mortality of the characters. There isn’t any focus on characters who don’t have cancer. Cancer seems like something you really don’t truly understand unless you have it, someone close to you has it or you know someone who has died of it. Cancer is this big scary thing that we really don’t understand and we really can’t even do anything about.

 

It did take me a little while to get into the story, but I eventually got it. I might enjoy it more if I read it a second time, but I don’t know. I liked his style of writing. I thought there were some really great lines.

 

“I want to minimize the number of deaths I am responsible for” (pg. 28).

 

“You put the killing thing right between your teeth, but you don’t give it the power to do its killing” pg. 20

 

H: “I’m trying to observe young love in its many splendor awkwardness”

G: “Yes its difficult to ascertain whether he is trying to arouse her or perform a breast exam”   pg. 19

 

Isaac: “Thank you for explaining that my eye cancer isn’t going to make me deaf” pg. 15

One thing that I will harp on is the focus on V for Vendetta in this movie. Hazel is supposed to look like Natalie Portman in that movie. I accepted this, even liked it cause not many people can pull off the shaved head look as a girl and look good. Natalie Portman is one of those women though. HOWEVER I was not happy with how Hazel handled this movie. Example: “Pixie haired gorgeous girl dislikes authority and can’t help fall for a boy she knows is trouble” (pg. 17). THAT IS AN EXTREMELY OVERSIMPLIFIED EXPLANATION OF THAT MOVIE. V for Vendetta is one of my favorite movies. It is probably my significant others favorite movie. Now Hazel says “It was kind of a boy movie. I don’t know why boys expect us to like boy movies. We don’t expect them to like girl movies” (pg. 35). What? NO. I am a girl. I have seen this movie. I love this movie. I disagree that it is a girl movie. I think this movie is too complicated to have in this book. They are not on the same level. John Green is diminishing the awesome nature of this movie in this book. I hated the whole part about V for Vendetta.

 

Overall, I do give it a 4/5. I really did like it. It wasn’t too long, it was just certain things that I really didn’t like.

 

If you are a girl and haven’t seen V for Vendetta, go watch it. like right now.

Leave a Reply

