What To Read This Weekend…The Beautiful Ashes by Jeaniene Frost Review

Beauty In the Ashes by Jeanie Frost

 

Ok so my roommate got a copy of this book at BEA so I read it back in July. This is only the second book by Jeanie Frost that I have read. My roommate loves her books and read it and recommended it.

 

Screen Shot 2014-08-28 at 11.46.25 PMBlurb:

In a world of shadows, anything is possible. Except escaping your fate. 

Ever since she was a child, Ivy has been gripped by visions of strange realms just beyond her own. But when her sister goes missing, Ivy discovers the truth is far worse—her hallucinations are real, and her sister is trapped in a parallel realm. The one person who believes her is the dangerously attractive guy who’s bound by an ancient legacy to betray her.

Adrian might have turned his back on those who raised him, but that doesn’t mean he can change his fate…no matter how strong a pull he feels toward Ivy. Together they search for the powerful relic that can save her sister, but Adrian knows what Ivy doesn’t: that every step brings Ivy closer to the truth about her own destiny, and a war that could doom the world. Sooner or later, it will be Ivy on one side, Adrian on the other, and nothing but ashes in between…

 

 

Now the book started out in a interesting way. The main character shows up at a B&B to see if her sister stayed there the night before, except the hotel is really a place where demons capture humans and take them to another dimension. Ivy can see through demon masks and runs away. When she gets back to the hotel there is a guy waiting for her in her room who apparently looks like Thor (pic of Thor here). Now you know its gonna get interesting.

 

One thing that I didn’t like was that supposedly the main characters parents died two days after her sister disappears. Now there was very little “OMG MY PARENTS ARE DEAD” going on with this character which I liked because sometimes its too much, but there was almost not enough. Now there is a time where she has a breakdown about her mom and dad, but its not till really late in the book. I feel like she should have had a breakdown earlier if we are going to have a breakdown. Also once she finds her sister, she doesn’t tell her about her parents. So this girl who has been in literal hell for weeks, doesn’t know her parents are dead yet and I am hoping we get to that in the second book, but it will be awhile till we find out since I am sure the next book won’t come out for probably another year.

 

Her sister is also supposed to have run away with a guy…where is this guy? Was he evil, or did he die? What is the story there? Nope, didn’t get it, and I doubt it will come up in the next book, which is disappointing. Its not a big deal, but still…the devil is in the details.

 

Another annoying thing is she escapes with her sister, then immediately goes back to save her man. It all seemed very short. It was cinematic in my head, but I didn’t like it in the actual book. I don’t know why. She was very irrational in this part and I wanted her to calm down. I know this may not make sense, but there was just something about that section that threw me off and I didn’t like. Does anyone know what it was?

 

Now this was supposed to be a NA book. The character is 20, there are some hotter scenes between the guy and girl, but still not a lot. Also those “hot scenes” aren’t really that ‘hot’. Disappointment was mainly the feeling after I finished. I wanted more, especially because they are supposed to be forming this ‘bond’, (which was never explained in my opinion) and I was just wanting a little more there as well. I mean you are around a guy who looks like Thor (except hotter) and you don’t jump his bones at all? Really? Ugh so frustrating.

 

I really liked the main character. She was really realistic. There was a over dramatic “No this isn’t real” going on , which seems to happen a lot and gets annoying sometimes. I really liked the writing. I thought it was well-written. I liked the characters, she also wans’t afraid to kill people.

 

I may seem like I didn’t like a lot of things, but that’s not true. I really liked our main guy and girl. I liked their whole relationship and wit against each other. Overall a good read and I will pick up the next one. The story was one of the more original ideas I have read.

 

4/5 stars.

 

Leave a Reply

