We Were Liars by E. Lockhart Review

Now I have never read a book by E. Lockhart. This book was my first experience with this author.

This book was BRILLANT! Let’s start with that.

 

Now one of my favorite things about this book was that the pacing was very different from any of my books I have read recently. There are just lines of short sentences and it is not a long book so it goes by quickly, but it was SOOO GOOD!. The pacing did take a while to get used to and I honestly woulnd’t even say that I really liked it BUT it totally worked for this book. For this character in this book it was exactly what was needed.

 

It is a little confusing to keep everyone straight sometimes. The Sinclairs are not a big family, but they are not small either. I had to keep referring back to the family tree to keep it straight. I also think more background into the family and how horrible the three sisters relationship was could have been better. HOWEVER IT WAS STILL SO GOOD. It was the type of book that you don’t realize how great it is until you finish it. You really have to read the whole thing to get the whole thing, So if you read it and don’t like it FINISH IT. It’s not very long so read the whole thing and then judge it. What I thought was going to happen did not happen, but what did happen was so much better. That always makes me happy when the author has a more brilliant ending than the one I had in my head. I dind’t get the whole “We are liars” thing till the end so at the end I liked it, but throughout the book I thought it was annoying until it became BRILLANT.

 

DON’T READ PAST HERE IF YOU DON’T WANT SPOILERS

 

 

OMG OMG OMG THEY ARE ALLLLLL DEEEAAADDD!!!! WHAT???? JUST WHAT???? I DID NOT SEE THAT COMING!!! I borrowed this from a friend and as soon as I finished I just wanted to talk to someone about it.

 

I CAN’T BELIEVE THEY ARE DEAD!

 

It was really weird that she could still see them, but that is also what made the end so amazing. I wish we could have gotten more from her relationship with Gat. I didn’t need a lot more, just a little.

 

It was also interesting how it was really only what happened the summer. I liked it, but I also didn’t like it. You didn’t know what happened during the year. I would have liked it either way I think so I am ok with it, but still.

 

The main character writes stories that she shares that reflected what was going on in the book. I thought that the stories were a great extra part. I loved the stories. They were really interesting and creative.

 

The dialogue was also confusing at times or I just couldn’t keep up.

 

In the end though I give it 5/5 stars. It is great. You should read it. Your mom should read it. Your sister should read it. Everyone should read it. Great summer read.

Leave a Reply

